Occupations/29-1291.00
Acupuncturists
Diagnose, treat, and prevent disorders by stimulating specific acupuncture points within the body using acupuncture needles. May also use cups, nutritional supplements, therapeutic massage, acupressure, and other alternative health therapies.
Usually a graduate or professional degree.
AI automation risk
25%
More resilient
Human characteristics
64%
Strong human-characteristic mix
Task orientation
33%
More resilient
A day in this job
- Mostly human
Treat patients using tools, such as needles, cups, ear balls, seeds, pellets, or nutritional supplements.
- Mostly human
Identify correct anatomical and proportional point locations based on patients' anatomy and positions, contraindications, and precautions related to treatments, such as intradermal needles, moxibustion, electricity, guasha, or bleeding.
- Task
Maintain and follow standard quality, safety, environmental, and infection control policies and procedures.
The tasks we can read here lean on people, judgment, or hands-on work. The AI risk number is still this job’s rank against other occupations.
Core tasks
- 01Maintain and follow standard quality, safety, environmental, and infection control policies and procedures.
- 02Treat patients using tools, such as needles, cups, ear balls, seeds, pellets, or nutritional supplements.
- 03Adhere to local, state, and federal laws, regulations, and statutes.
- 04Identify correct anatomical and proportional point locations based on patients' anatomy and positions, contraindications, and precautions related to treatments, such as intradermal needles, moxibustion, electricity, guasha, or bleeding.
- 05Develop individual treatment plans and strategies.
- 06Insert needles to provide acupuncture treatment.
Model drivers (O*NET 1–5)
- Repeating same tasks3.04
- Degree of automation1.18
- Time sitting2.39
- Originality (ability)2.88
- Conflict situations2.31
- Hands-on objects/tools4.46
- Outdoors / weather1.07
- Disease exposure4.21
- Decision freedom4.79
Top abilities
- Problem Sensitivity3.88
- Oral Expression3.88
- Oral Comprehension3.88
- Near Vision3.88
- Deductive Reasoning3.88
- Written Comprehension3.75
- Inductive Reasoning3.62
- Written Expression3.25
Essential skills
- Reading Comprehension3.25
- Active Listening3.88
- Writing3.12
- Speaking3.62
- Mathematics2.00
- Science2.25
- Critical Thinking3.75
- Active Learning3.12
- Learning Strategies2.62
- Monitoring3.25
CIP matches
Schools offering related programs
12 of 13 shown
Earnings are College Scorecard medians for that program, 1 and 2 years after completion. A dash means the Department suppressed the cell or the campus is not in the field file.
| Institution | Program | Tuition | Admit | Grad 6-yr | Earnings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Minneapolis Community and Technical College Minneapolis, MN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $5,900 | 100% | 28% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Certificate · CIP 51.33 |
Rochester Community and Technical College Rochester, MN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $6,200 | 100% | 33% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Ridgewater College Willmar, MN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $6,100 | 100% | 36% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Minnesota West Community and Technical College Granite Falls, MN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $6,000 | 100% | 37% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
North Hennepin Community College Brooklyn Park, MN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $5,900 | 100% | 31% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville, TN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $13,400 | 68% | 73% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
University of Massachusetts-Amherst Amherst, MA · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $17,400 | 64% | 83% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Graduate certificate · CIP 51.33 |
Anoka Technical College Anoka, MN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $6,300 | 100% | 48% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Lake Superior College Duluth, MN · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $5,900 | 100% | 38% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Columbus State Community College Columbus, OH · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $4,800 | 100% | 25% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Macomb Community College Warren, MI · Public | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $4,200 | 100% | 22% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Concordia University-Saint Paul St. Paul, MN · Private nonprofit | Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 51.3301 | $25,000 | 69% | 55% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
