Occupations/39-5092.00
Manicurists and Pedicurists
Clean and shape customers' fingernails and toenails. May polish or decorate nails.
Usually a high school diploma, plus some experience or short training.
AI automation risk
66%
Higher automation risk
Human characteristics
20%
Fewer uniquely human demands
Task orientation
32%
More resilient
A day in this job
- Mostly routine
Clean and sanitize tools and work environment.
- Mostly routine
Shape and smooth ends of nails, using scissors, files, or emery boards.
- Mostly routine
Prepare customers' nails in soapy water, using swabs, files, and orange sticks.
The tasks we can read here lean routine. That sits next to the AI risk rank — it is not a forecast that the job disappears.
Core tasks
- 01Clean and sanitize tools and work environment.
- 02Apply undercoat and clear or colored polish onto nails with brush.
- 03Maintain supply inventories and records of client services.
- 04Shape and smooth ends of nails, using scissors, files, or emery boards.
- 05Prepare nail cuticles with water and oil, using cuticle knives to push back cuticles and scissors or nippers to trim cuticles.
- 06Prepare customers' nails in soapy water, using swabs, files, and orange sticks.
Model drivers (O*NET 1–5)
- Repeating same tasks1.85
- Degree of automation1.07
- Time sitting4.05
- Originality (ability)2.62
- Conflict situations1.44
- Hands-on objects/tools4.04
- Outdoors / weather1.00
- Disease exposure2.07
- Decision freedom3.90
Top abilities
- Near Vision3.50
- Finger Dexterity3.12
- Arm-Hand Steadiness3.12
- Speech Recognition3.00
- Oral Expression3.00
- Manual Dexterity3.00
- Speech Clarity2.88
- Selective Attention2.88
Essential skills
- Reading Comprehension2.75
- Active Listening3.00
- Writing2.12
- Speaking3.00
- Mathematics1.88
- Science1.00
- Critical Thinking2.50
- Active Learning2.75
- Learning Strategies2.12
- Monitoring2.62
CIP matches
Schools offering related programs
6 shown
Earnings are College Scorecard medians for that program, 1 and 2 years after completion. A dash means the Department suppressed the cell or the campus is not in the field file.
| Institution | Program | Tuition | Admit | Grad 6-yr | Earnings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Dunwoody College of Technology Minneapolis, MN · Private nonprofit | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $25,600 | 98% | 61% | 1 yr $24,035 2 yr $24,615 Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Saint Paul College St. Paul, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $6,100 | 100% | 29% | 1 yr $20,140 2 yr $25,658 Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Anoka-Ramsey Community College Coon Rapids, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $5,800 | 100% | 33% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Minneapolis Community and Technical College Minneapolis, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $5,900 | 100% | 28% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Ridgewater College Willmar, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $6,100 | 100% | 36% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Columbus State Community College Columbus, OH · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $4,800 | 100% | 25% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
