Occupations/39-5094.00
Skincare Specialists
Provide skincare treatments to face and body to enhance an individual's appearance. Includes electrologists and laser hair removal specialists.
Usually a certificate, vocational program, or associate degree — not a bachelor’s.
AI automation risk
32%
More resilient
Human characteristics
66%
Strong human-characteristic mix
Task orientation
45%
Mixed exposure
A day in this job
- Mostly human
Demonstrate how to clean and care for skin properly and recommend skin-care regimens.
- Mostly routine
Sterilize equipment and clean work areas.
- Mostly human
Determine which products or colors will improve clients' skin quality and appearance.
Split from the wording of these tasks, shown next to the occupation’s AI risk. It is not a separate score for each task, and it is not a forecast that the job disappears.
Core tasks
- 01Sterilize equipment and clean work areas.
- 02Cleanse clients' skin with water, creams, or lotions.
- 03Demonstrate how to clean and care for skin properly and recommend skin-care regimens.
- 04Determine which products or colors will improve clients' skin quality and appearance.
- 05Keep records of client needs and preferences and the services provided.
- 06Treat the facial skin to maintain and improve its appearance, using specialized techniques and products, such as peels and masks.
Model drivers (O*NET 1–5)
- Repeating same tasks3.14
- Degree of automation1.42
- Time sitting2.83
- Originality (ability)2.88
- Conflict situations2.45
- Hands-on objects/tools4.15
- Outdoors / weather1.01
- Disease exposure3.62
- Decision freedom4.34
Top abilities
- Oral Expression3.88
- Oral Comprehension3.88
- Near Vision3.88
- Speech Recognition3.50
- Speech Clarity3.50
- Deductive Reasoning3.50
- Written Comprehension3.25
- Problem Sensitivity3.25
Essential skills
- Reading Comprehension3.12
- Active Listening3.50
- Writing2.88
- Speaking3.75
- Mathematics2.00
- Science1.38
- Critical Thinking3.12
- Active Learning3.00
- Learning Strategies2.75
- Monitoring3.25
CIP matches
Schools offering related programs
6 shown
Earnings are College Scorecard medians for that program, 1 and 2 years after completion. A dash means the Department suppressed the cell or the campus is not in the field file.
| Institution | Program | Tuition | Admit | Grad 6-yr | Earnings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Dunwoody College of Technology Minneapolis, MN · Private nonprofit | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $25,600 | 98% | 61% | 1 yr $24,035 2 yr $24,615 Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Saint Paul College St. Paul, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $6,100 | 100% | 29% | 1 yr $20,140 2 yr $25,658 Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Anoka-Ramsey Community College Coon Rapids, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $5,800 | 100% | 33% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Minneapolis Community and Technical College Minneapolis, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $5,900 | 100% | 28% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Certificate · CIP 12.04 |
Ridgewater College Willmar, MN · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $6,100 | 100% | 36% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
Columbus State Community College Columbus, OH · Public | Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General 12.0401 | $4,800 | 100% | 25% | 1 yr — 2 yr — Not reported |
